CAFA Awards Celebration

The CAFA Distinguished Academic Awards recognize academic staff members at Alberta’s research and undergraduate universities, who through their research and/or other scholarly, creative or professional activities have made an outstanding contribution to the wider community beyond the university.

The recipient of the 2020 CAFA Distinguished Academic Award is Dr. Maya L. Evenden, Professor of Biological Sciences at University of Alberta, Dr. Erin Sutherland, Assistant Professor of Cultural Studies at University of Alberta Augustana Campus, was chosen to receive the 2020 CAFA Distinguished Academic Early Career Award and the inaugural 2020 CAFA Distinguished Teaching Award was awarded to Dr. Kristine A. Peace, Associate Professor of Psychology at MacEwan University.

Due to the pandemic, the Awards Ceremony usually held to honor the recipients could not go ahead in person; however, CAFA has created a video to highlight the award winners and their outstanding work. The video is available Online.